Acceptance of Ourselves


Thought for today:

Acceptance is the fifth and last stage of the “five stages of grief*”.  Having gone through denial, anger, bargaining and depression over our debts, it is a welcome relief to be able to see a blue sky again!

A member shares:

“When I accept myself as I am, and accept my net worth as whatever it is, I become comfortable in my skin and grounded in love.  Problems seem to lose their dominance, replaced with an atmosphere of peace with glimpses of loving kindness and generosity.

“I have a long way to go, but I know that I am not alone.  The love of the fellowship has given me a new ability to love myself!”


Am I doing something loving for myself today?

Meditation for today:

It is a paradox that self-love brings out love in others.  When we are comfortable being who we are in any moment – that is to say human, with frailties – we begin to allow others to experience relief from pretense and competition.

Affirmation for today:

“I accept who I am.”

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss

How to Recover in Debtors Anonymous (Whether You’re in that Program or Not): A Primer

Click the book image for product information.

If you like this post, please use the share buttons below.

If you are new to this blog, check out our overview of the program of recovery from compulsive debting.

Some links will bring you to other sites. Anything you buy (not just the book shown) on Amazon earns us a (very) small commission, which does not add to your cost… It’s a “Win-Win”!

Copyright 2015,